Youth Select Committee to focus on racism and religious discrimination

The British Youth Council have announced today (Tuesday 22nd March) that racism and religious discrimination will be the topic of focus for the 2016 Youth Select Committee’s inquiry. Racism and religious discrimination was chosen as the UK Youth Parliament’s 2016 priority campaign following the Make Your Mark campaign, which took place in late 2015, where the issue was placed as one of the most important issues by 95,000 young people.

The Youth Select Committee is a British Youth Council initiative where the eleven committee members, aged 13-18, mirror the UK Parliament Select Committee. It will consist of two Members of the UK Youth Parliament (MYPs), two youth councillors, a Young Mayor, one elected representative from each of the devolved nations and three reserved seats.

Last year, the inquiry delved into young people and the issue of mental health. TheYouth Select Committee inquiry highlighted issues of mental health services for young people being critically underfunded as well as resolving the stigma associated with mental health problems. The report, published in November 2015, saw the Committee offering recommendations in three vital areas: funding and the state of services, a role for education and awareness and stigma and digital culture. The Government’s response to the inquiry stated that mental health and wellbeing were a ‘top priority in the Department for Education and Department of Health’ and that they would take on board a number of the committee’s recommendations.


For media enquiries or to interview a member of the committee please contact:
Rhammel Afflick, Communications & Media Officer  |  +44 (0)20 7250 8376 |  +44 (0)79 85 260 337

For inquiry related queries please contact:

Notes to Editors

  1. The British Youth Council is the National Youth Council of the UK. A youth-led charity, we empower young people aged 25 and under to influence and inform the decisions that affect their lives. We support young people to get involved in their communities and democracy locally, nationally and internationally, making a difference as volunteers, campaigners, decision-makers and leaders.
  2. Committee Membership is as follows: Bronagh Hughes, 17, Northern Ireland Seat: Chair of the Youth Select Committee, Elif Emma True, 17, Youth Council Seat: Vice Chair of the Youth Select Committee, Rhys Barnes, 18, Member of Barnet Youth Board, Otis Skitch, 17, Member of Youth Parliament for Torbay, Opprah Manyika, 19, Other Representative Seat, Neil Kotre,17, Other Representative Seat, Namir Rahim Chowdhury, 18, Other Representative Seat, Martin Gallacher, 17, Scottish Seat: Member of Scottish Youth Parliament for Glasgow Cathcart, Jonathan Quin, Young Mayor of Surrey Heath, Brahmpreet Kaur Gulati, Member of Youth Parliament for Leicester and Emily Jones, 14, Welsh Seat: Caerphilly Youth Forum.
  3. Media spokespeople are available on request throughout the oral evidence sessions. To organise interviews please email
  4. For inquiry-related questions please contact the inquiry team on
  5. Photos of the Youth Select Committee are available here: (Please credit all photos UK Parliament/ Jessica Taylor.)
  6. Further information about the Youth Select Committee is available at: