Northern Ireland record poll for Youth Parliament

This year’s Youth Parliament election has seen 11,344 young people aged 11 to 18 cast their vote across Northern Ireland, surpassing any previously established record and taking their opportunity to vote and decide who will represent them and campaign on the issues they feel are important.

17 Members of Youth Parliament (9 girls and 8 boys) will champion the voices of young people engaging with every young person in their constituency, shape UK Youth Parliament policy and campaigns, meet regularly with other youth councils and forums in their area and encourage young people to take part in UK Youth Parliament’s UK-wide consultation ‘Make Your Mark’ later this year, which saw 37,053 from across Northern Ireland take part last year. They will also meet fellow MYPs from across the UK in the Annual Sitting in England later in the year. The initiative is supported by Westminster and Stormont politicians and a reception will be held for the new representatives in the City Hall later this month.

Young people wanting to vote in the Fermanagh and South Tyrone election, which was postponed, can still take part online until 6th March** by visiting:

Feargal Murphy, British Youth Council Trustee from Northern Ireland said: “These results show the commitment and dedication of both the young people and youth workers campaigning in NI. The dedicated efforts of various organisations such as the NIYF, different schools and the media across the nation helped us achieve this momentous result. We look forward to working with our partners and the young people in NI to build on these results and continue the process of making real and substantial change.”

Matthew Carson, Chair of the Northern Ireland Youth Forum said: “I’m delighted by the record turnout of these elections in Northern Ireland which serves to emphasise the growing passion young people in our part of the world have for youth democracy and participation. I’d like to take this opportunity to congratulate all candidates for their hard work; both successful and unsuccessful, and I look forward to working with you all over the coming weeks and months”


Constituency Member of Youth Parliament Final Vote 2013 Final Vote 2014 To date 2015
Belfast East Ross McVittie 399 111 294
Belfast North Nicole Mccann 329 119 58
Belfast South Drew Mcwilliams 422 160 1051
Belfast West Amber Mcstravick 500 244 567
East Antrim Sophie Bell 22 56 826
East Londonderry Emma McCaughern 518 120 348
Foyle Thomas Chambers 2195 665 1110
Lagan Valley Ryan Simpson 41 160 228
Mid Ulster Jack Logue 296 0 1374
Newry And Armagh Gareth Hampton 351 187 393
North Antrim Niesha Kelly 503 147 270
North Down Sarah Walker 419 40 608
South Antrim Jordan Graham 15 191 437
South Down Helen Jennings 737 219 886
Strangford Aaron Addidle 188 493 899
Upper Bann Abigail Taylor 44 167 1100
West Tyrone Zara Hemphill 7 337 895
Fermanagh & South Tyrone [Voting in progress] 23 65 N/A
TOTAL 7,009 3,481 11,344