The Youth Select Committee is a British Youth Council initiative, supported by the House of Commons. The eleven committee members are aged 11-18 and include two Members of the UK Youth Parliament (MYPs), two youth councillors, a Young Mayor, one elected representative from each of the devolved nations and three reserved seats.

This year's Youth Select Committee will focus on work experience, which was voted in the top three issues by young people in the Make Your Mark ballot.

Work experience gives young people the opportunity to develop themselves, hobbies and potential career paths. Young people, however, have said that knowing where to find work experience can be a challenge. This inquiry will explore barriers preventing young people from accessing work experience and what is and isn’t currently available for all young people in the UK.


The committee is eager to hear your views and invite submissions addressing the terms of reference from individuals, organisations and interested parties, including (but not restricted to) young people, who have faced barriers to work experience, related charities, social media platforms, campaigners, schools, education professionals, politicians, and any other interested parties.

Respondents should note that it is not necessary to answer every question in the terms of reference. Submissions should clearly state who they are from, be concise (generally no more than 3000 words), contain an executive summary, and have numbered paragraphs. Submissions should be sent as Word documents to by 5pm on Monday 18th June 2018.

If you do not have access to e-mail, you may send a paper copy of your response to the Clerk of the Youth Select Committee, c/o Work and Pensions Committee, House of Commons, London, SW1A 0AA.

If you do not wish your name to be published then please indicate this when you submit your evidence. You will still need to provide your name and contact details as the Committee will not accept anonymous evidence but that information will not be shared online. Material already published elsewhere should not form the basis of a submission but may be referred to in the response. The Committee will not investigate or publish any individual cases of complaint/allegations.

Evidence that is submitted will be published on the British Youth Council website. However, the British Youth Council do reserve the right to redact evidence partially or in full should it contain information that is considered to be libel.

Find out more about the previous inquiries led by the British Youth Council's Youth Select Committee.


Committee Members and Staff Contact Details

Youth Select Committee
British Youth Council
CAN Mezzanine
49-51 East Road
London N1 6AH

General information

Francesca Danmole, Senior Campaign & Policy Officer at the British Youth Council on 020 7250 8374 or email

Press and Publicity information

Members of the press with enquiries should contact Rhammel Afflick, Communications & Media Officer, British Youth Council, on 020 7250 8376 or; Paul Connolly, House of Commons Media Relations Officer, on 020 7219 1493 or